Head Scratcher

This is the official JPALMER25 forum for rules discussions, scorekeeping questions and other scenarios that have left you scratching your head on a ball diamond.

Head Scratcher

Postby CoachBob » Fri May 23, 2014 3:34 pm

Pretty sure this ump made the wrong call yesterday but I wanted to ask the experts...

Bases loaded, HARD ground ball to SHORT, R2 does what he's probably been correctly taught and runs in front of the fielder MAKING NO CONTACT WITH THE SS OR THE BALL. Distracted the ball scoots through the SS legs into the OF.

Ump calls time, calls interference on the R2, sends him back to 2b, calls the batter out and returns R1 back to 1b...but then exacerbates the wrongness by allowing R3 home, because "he crossed the plate before the interference" (which was physically impossible based on the hard hit ball).

Both teams were scratching their heads, especially after the wrong call within the wrong call, but it fortunately didn't impact the 2-0 win by Plymouth (over Novi) Freshman.

This was not interference, correct?
Coaching Experience: 10 years travel, LL & Rec, now retired :)
Currently: Parent, 2015 Blue Jays 16u and Plymouth HS Booster
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:22 pm
Location: Western Wayne County

Re: Head Scratcher

Postby justme13 » Tue May 27, 2014 1:32 pm

If the umpire determined he intentionally hindered the infielder from making the play it is interference, though I've never seen it called when not making contact. The penalty is the runner AND the batter is out. If the hinder(usually contact) is unintentional, just the batter is out. Runners are returned to the base last occupied at the time of the interference. So, if the ump determined the guy on third was across the plate the run scores.
Been involved in the game for over 45 years.
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 1:50 pm

Return to What's Your Call?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest